Medicine

Functionalization of surfaces

Pflaster titv

For medical coating markets the functionalization of surfaces is an extremely important criterion. Most products are formed by coating with functional chemicals. The individual products can be categorized in the area described in the following section.

 

Hygienic products

Here you will find mostly low-cost products produced in mass quantities where a rapid uptake and storage of liquids while maintaining breathability is important.

 

Functional textiles

This product category is often used in medical facilities for protective clothing and hygienic supplies. The required functions here might be for alcohol or water-repellence and super-absorbance chrematistics.

 

Medical Applications

In these products the carrier is improved and functionally delivered by the coating. In wound dressings or transdermal delivery systems the necessary active ingredients are applied with high precision to the carrier. Transdermal systems can include nicotine patches, heat generating applications and controlled-dose contraceptive.

 

Other products

Health care produces a plethora of products that benefit from accurate and sterile coating methods. For example the diagnosis markers produced by coating indicating pathogens or other evidence of disease in the blood or urine. A new development is galantine strips containing appropriate drugs that are dissolved in the mouth or adhered to the palate where they release their active substance efficiently and quickly. Even the lead foil, which is required for protection against X-rays must be coated. Likewise, individual filaments, yarns or threads are coated for medical use. Whether floss or surgical cord - these products get drench coated with the necessary properties

 

Scale-up Process

Coatema Basecoater frei 011

Medicine coating plant in GMP (Good Manufacturing Practice) design

 

Process of Engineering

Many process methods can be considered for individual products and product groups. The following basic points can be mentioned as typical for the production of all these products:

  • Application of thin films at high speed
  • Special surface treatment
  • Purity of the coating processes (partly GMP standard)
  • Exact recording functions (Quality Management)
  • Flexible layout with various coating technologies
  • assurance systems
  • Conformity in accordance with all applicable laws (e.g. environmental guidelines such as Atex, VOC, etc.)

 

Areas of application

  • Transdermal systems
  • Sublingual delivery
  • Plaster fabrics
  • Surgical Materials

Medizin

Funktionalisierung von Oberflächen

Pflaster titv

Gerade im medizinische Bereich ist die Funktionalisierung von Oberflächen ein wichtiges Kriterium. Die meisten Produkte entstehen erst durch die Beschichtung mit funktionsbringenden Chemikalien. Die einzelnen Produkte lassen sich in die im folgenden Abschnitt beschriebenen Bereich segmentieren.

 

Hygenische Produkte

Hier findet man meist Low-Cost-Produkte, die in Massenherstellung erzeugt wrden. Gerodert wird hier meist eine schnelle Aufnahme und Speicherung von Flüssigkeiten bei gleichzeitiger Atmungsaktivität.

 

Funktionstextilien

Diese Produkte werden oft in medizinischen Einrichtungen verbraucht. Es handelt sich um Schutzkleidung aber auch um hygienische Verbrauchsmaterialien. Die geforderten Funktionen sind hier schon etwas manigfaltiger. Alkohol- oder wasserabweisend und supersaugfähig sind klassische Merkmale.

 

Medizinische Anwendungen

Bei diesen Produkten wird durch die Beschichtung nicht nur der Träger veredelt, sondern es wird die eigentliche Funktion aufgetragen. Bei Wundverbänden oder transdermalen Systemen werden notwendige Wirkstoffe hochpräzise auf die Träger aufgebracht. Transdermale Systeme sind beispielsweise Nikotin- oder Wärmepflaster, aber auch Hormonpflaser, die für eine niedrig dosierte Verhütung eingesetzt werden.

 

Sonstige Produkte

Da die medizinische Versorgung eine Unmege an unterschiedlichen Produkten hervorbringt, sind natürlich auch ganz andere Produkte in diesem Bereich beschichtet. Für die Diagnose werden z.B. Marker durch Beschichtung hergestellt, die Krankheitserreger oder andere Hinweise auf Krankheiten im Blut oder Urin anzeigen. Eine Neuentwicklung sind mit entsprechenden Wirkstoffen beschichtete Gelantinestrips, die einfach gelutscht, bzw. an den Gaumen geklebt werden und dort ihren Wirkstoff effizient und schnell abgeben. Selbst die Bleifolie, die für den Schutz vor Röntgenstrahlen benötigt wird, muss beschichtet werden. Ebenso werden einzelne Filamente, Garne oder Fäden für den medizinischen Einsatz beschichtet. Ob Zahnseide oder chirurgisches Nähgarn - auch diese Produkte erhalten druch Beschichtung erst die notwendigen Eigenschaften.

 

Scale-up Prozesse

Coatema Basecoater frei 011

Medizinbeschichtungsanlage in GMP-Ausführung

 

Verfahrenstechnik

Für die einzelnen Produkte und Produktgruppen kommen natürlich unterschiedliche Verfahren in Betracht. Grundsätzlich können aber die folgenden Punkte als typisch für die Produktion all dieser Produktgruppen genannt werden:

  • Applikation von dünnen Schichten mit höchster Geschwindigkeit
  • Spezielle Oberflächenbehandlung
  • Reinheit der BEschichtungsprozesse (teilweise GMP-Standard)
  • genauste Aufzeichnungsfunktionen (Quality Management)
  • flexibles Layout mit verschiedenen Beschichtungstechnologien
  • Qualitätssicherungssysteme
  • Konformität entsprechend allen geltenden Gesetzmäßigkeiten (z.B. Umweltrichtlinien wie Atex, VOC u.a.)

 

Anwendungsgebiete

  • transdermale Systeme
  • Pharmazie
  • Pflaster
  • OP-Materialien