Renewable Energy

Solar, Fuel Cell and Batteries

The market for renewable energy has potential for cutting edge developments. Coatema's primary renewable energy markets include battery, fuel cell and solar.

Coatema has been the leader in the development of Lab-to-Fab processes for these markets for over 15 years.

 

Renewables example

 

Battery

Coating solutions for battery

Sophisticated battery technologies such as lithium-ion, lithium-polymer, and nickel metal hydride require particularly efficient coating and casting processes for the anode, cathode and the separator.

Battery manufacturers and developers can choose between single or double-sided coating in the horizontal or vertical position. Coatema's coating machines work with nickel foam, thin copper or aluminum substrate films, expanded metals and various types of separators.

A variety of different coating and printing methods can be used: knife coating, commabar or reverse commabar, slot die, engraved roller or screen printing for thin film battery. Intermittent or patch coatings capabilities are possible with some applications.

Scale-up Process

Coatema offers coating and printing expertise in a broad range from laboratory machines and production lines for various components of advanced batteries. The Easycoater or TestSolution can be used for developing sheet samples for the coated anode and cathode as well as for casting processes.

The Basecoater is designed for smaller production volumes or to create volume samples of various battery components. These results can enable the next step to full production volumes with a working width up to 1200 mm and flotation dryers in nitrogen atmosphere. From the smallest scale to production quantities Coatema is your partner for battery coatings of any kind.

Coatema Battery SM19

 

Presentation about Coatema Battery Equipment

Fuel cell

Coating solutions for fuel cells

FuelCell

Our 10 years of experience in the fuel cell markets and close cooperation with research institutes worldwide make Coatema your best partner from development to full production.

In our facilities you can impregnate gas diffusion layers, apply the micro and platinum catalysts on the gas diffusion layers. The GDL's can be paper, nonwoven or woven fabrics. Systems for the casting of membranes and the direct coating of membranes with platinum catalyst are also offered.

Usable application systems include: knife system, engraved roller, slot die and micro roller. These are available as easily interchangeable modules creating a high degree of flexibility.

 

Scale-up Prozess

Coatema offers plants for basic research with our lab coaters and from pilot plant to production scale manufacturing for MEAs or other fuel cell components. These solutions are offered for the following fuel cell technologies: AFC, PEMFC, HTPEMFC, DMFC, MCFC, SOFC, etc.

Fuel cell technologies working widths from A4 to material widths of 1200 mm in roll-to-roll processing are possible.

 

Presentation about Coatema Fuel Cell Equipment

Solar cells

Coating solutions for solar cells,

For more than 15 years organic and inorganic solar cells have been researched as alternatives to silicon. The roll to roll manufacturing of CIGS, dye solar cells (DSSC) and polymer solar cells constituted a research focus of Coatema.

Coatema is also involved in the development of new cell types, such as perovskites cells. In addition to FP7 EU projects on the subject of polymer solar cells, Coatema is involved in major pilot plants for the above technology and is the market leader in some areas.

Since the first application of flexible organic solar cells in 2002 Coatema has provided coating, printing and encapsulation solutions in this relatively new market.

Coatema systems can also be equipped with laser structuring or the technology of nanoimprinting. Several encapsulation systems for flexible solar cells and nitrogen atmosphere complete the product range.

Smartcoaters can be equipped with inert atmosphere, laser patterning and modules to laminate barrier films. One such system was delivered to Fraunhofer ILT for the Flexlas project in 2008.

Coatema SCLaser frei

 

Even larger pilot plants, such as the VTT Printocent development center, are already producing flexible organic solar cells on a larger scale.

Coatema LS09 03

 

 

Scale-up Process

All market participants can take advantage of the Coatema scale up concept from product development to the full production.

The Coatema R&D Center, in Dormagen, Germany has a complete range our capabilities from small table-top lab systems, such as the TestSolution, to pilot lines like the Basecoater 3G and even full production lines. Our customers can also access the extensive resources of numerous research and development partners worldwide.

 

Coatema SM04 09

Erneuerbare Energien

Der Markt der Erneuerbaren Energien ist noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft und bietet reichlich Potential für diverse Entwicklungen.

Wir, als Coatema, sind hier in den Bereichen "Batterie", "Brennstoffzelle" und "Solarzelle" tätig und entwicklen für diese Märkte schon seit über 10 Jahren diverse Anlagen sowohl für den Labor- als auch für den Produktionsbereich. 

 

Renewables example

 

Batterie

Beschichtungslösungen für Batterie

Hochentwickelte Batterietechnologien wie Lithium-Ion, Lithium-Polymer und Nickel-Metallhydrid benötigen besonders effiziente Beschichtungs- und Gießprozesse für die Anode, Kathode und die Separatoren.

Batterieentwickler und Batteriehersteller können zwischen einseitiger- oder beidseitiger Beschichtung in horizontaler- oder vertikaler Lage wählen. Coatema Maschinen sind in der Lage mit Nickelschaum, dünnem Kupfersubstrat oder Aluminiumfilmen, Streckmetallen oder verschiedensten Typen von Separatoren zu arbeiten.

Eine Vielzahl von verschiedenen Beschichtungs- und Druckverfahren können angewendet werden: Knife System, Commabar System oder Reverse Commabar System, Slot Die System, Engraved Roller System, Screen Printing (dünner Batteriebelag). Intermittierende Beschichtungen sind Standards bei Coatema Anwendungen.

 

Scale-up Prozess

Coatema bietet Ihnen im Bereich Beschichtung und Druck Expertenwissen, dass von Labormaschinen bis hin zu Produktionsanlagen für verschiedenste Komponenten von modernsten Batterien reicht. Der Easycoater kann für das Entwickeln von späteren Proben für Anode und Kathode sowie für Gießprozesse benutzt werden.

Der Basecoater eignet sich bereits für kleinere Produktionsmengen oder auch Erstellung von Proben verschiedenster Materialien. Diese Erfahrungen ermöglichen den nächsten Schritt, zu Hochgeschwindigkeitsproduktionsanlagen mit einer Arbeitsbreite bis zu 1.200 mm und Schwebetrocknern in Stickstoffatmosphäre. Von kleinsten Maßstäben bis hin zu Produktionsgrößen ist Coatema Ihr Partner für Batteriebeschichtungen jeglicher Art.

Coatema Battery SM19

 

Presentation about Coatema Battery Equipment

Brennstoffzelle

Beschichtungslösungen für Brennstoffzellen

FuelCell

Unsere 10-jährige Erfahrung im Brennstoffzellenmarkt und die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungsinstituten weltweit machen uns zum kompetenten Partner von der Entwicklung bis hin zur Serienproduktion.

Auf unseren Anlagen können Sie Gasdiffusionslagen impregnieren, den Micro- und den Platinkatalysator auf die Gasdiffusionslagen auftragen. Die GDL´s können Papier, Vliese oder Gewebe sein. Systeme für das Gießen von Membranen und die Direktbeschichtung von Membranen mit Platinkatalysator werden ebenfalls angeboten.

Als einsetzbare Auftragssysteme sind hier zu nennen: Knife System, Engraved Roller System, Slot Die System und Micro Roller System. Diese stehen Ihnen als modulare und schnell austauschbare Auftragsköpfe zur Verfügung, wodurch eine hohes Maß an Flexibilität gewährleistet ist.

 

Scale-up Prozess

Coatema offeriert Anlagen im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung, über den Laborcoater zur Pilotanlage bis hin zur Fertigungsanlage für MEA`s oder andere Brennstoffzellenkomponenten. Diese Lösungen werden für folgende Brennstoffzellentechnologien angeboten: AFC, PEMFC/HTPEMFC/DMFC, MCFC, SOFC

Für diese unterschiedlichen Brennstoffzellentechnologien werden Arbeitsbreiten von DIN A 4 bis hin zu Materialbreiten von 1.200 mm im R2R-Bereich angeboten.

 

Presentation about Coatema Fuel Cell Equipment

Solarzellen

Beschichtungslösungen für Solarzellen

Seit ungefähr 15 Jahren wird an Alternativen zu Silizium basierten Solarzellen geforscht. Insbesondere CIGS, Farbstoffsolarzellen (DSSC) und Polymersolarzellen stellten einen Forschungsschwerpunkt dar und hier war insbesondere die Rolle zu Rolle Herstellung dieser Solarzellen ein Schwerpunkt der Coatema GmbH. Natürlich ist Coatema auch an Entwicklungen zu neuen Zelltypen, wie zum Beispiel Perovskite Zellen beteiligt. Neben FP7 EU Projekten zu dem Thema Polymersolarzellen war Coatema bei allen großen Pilotanlagen für die oben genannte Technologie beteiligt und ist heute in einigen Bereichen auch Marktführer.

Seit der ersten Anwendung flexibler organischer Solarzellen im Jahr 2002, liefert  Coatema Beschichtungs-, Druck- und Verkapselungslösungen in diesen relativ neuen Markt.

Seit einigen Jahren werden die Coatema Anlagen auch mit Laserstrukturierung ausgestattet oder der Technologie des Nanoimprinten. Mehrere Verkapselungsanlagen für flexible Solarzellen und Stickstoffatmosphäre runden das Lieferprogramm ab.

Als Beispiel finden Sie hier einen Smartcoater mit Inert-Atmosphäre, Laserstrukturierung und Verkapselung mit Barriere Folien, der 2008 an das Fraunhofer ILT im Rahmen des Flexlas Projektes geliefert wurde. 

Coatema SCLaser frei

 

Aber auch an größeren Pilotanlagen wie im VTT Entwicklungszentrum Printocent werden in größerem Maßstabstab flexible organische Solarzellen hergestellt.

Coatema LS09 03

 

 

Scale-up-Prozess

Für alle Marktteilnehmer gilt wieder, dass Ihnen mit Coatema ein Scale-up-Spezialist zur Verfügung steht, mit dem komplette Produktentwicklungen bis zur Serienreife durchgeführt werden können.

Nicht nur mit kleinen Tischsystemen wie dem Test Solution oder produktionsnahen Systemen wie dem Basecoater 3G, sondern auch mit dem Coatema Technikum und den zahlreichen Kooperationspartnern aus der Forschung und Entwicklung weltweit, können unsere Kunden Entwicklung betreiben.

 

Coatema SM04 09